success in the clutch.

This week was one of my favorite projects so far in my 10 weeks (holy crap!) of weekly crafting. I think it comes in second to the pattern chop: top post. Turns out, I really like sewing a lot. I should do more of it. Admittedly, I’ve actually been done with this project since Sunday night and haven’t written about it yet. I was totally tuckered out on Sunday, so I went to bed after I finished. Yesterday, however, my good friend Colleen took me on a whirlwind trip to the Fairmont Hotel for…Wait for it…

A goddamn champagne tasting. It was baller. I drank this and this and endured being talked at by the sales guys. Truly a small price to pay for free champagne for two hours in the early evening. The night quickly escalated and the next thing you know, I’m in a bar eating fried raviolis shortly before falling asleep on the couch.

So for this weeks project, I started with a bag of scraps from PPT’s costume and clothing sale last month. I really tried to avoid bringing home more fabric and craft stuff I don’t have a plan for, but I couldn’t stop myself when I found a couple of awesome scraps. Out of this bag, there were two scraps that I really fell in love with: a hunk of thick, yellow corduroy and a long, narrow piece of patterned silk with pinks and golds and yellows. I didn’t know what to do with them just yet, but the juxtaposition of the two was great.

Then I spotted, on the cover of Making Vintage Accessories, this adorable envelope-style clutch. This was perfect. I had, a few days prior, nearly purchased a pattern for an envelope clutch, ultimately deciding that I didn’t want to pay for it. It was there in this book, I just had to enlarge the pages! So anyway, yadda yadda yadda, I made a purse. Here’s photographic evidence:

Do you know how hard it is to enlarge things using a photocopier? I'll tell you. Hard.

 

All the pieces cut out.

Shit. It's very obvious on the screen that the front isn't perfectly symmetrical. I didn't notice this until now. It's too late to fix it but it's going to drive me crazy.

I painstakingly made that little fringey band by carefully cutting it out and pulling a certain number of vertical threads. I'm proud, it's a good touch.

Anyway, that’s my craft for this week. I think next week will be the start of my Christmas crafts, presents or whatnot. I’m trying to get real serious about Christmas this year. The tree, dinners, planned and thoughtful presents that I bought more than a few days before the holiday. You know, the whole nine yards.

Oh, the week after that, I might have to take a “sick week” cause I pre-ordered the new Zelda game for the Wii and it’s bundled with a gold Wiimote and I’m thrilled. Look at this. Listen to its songs. I can’t wait.

 

 

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under crafts, sewing, upcycled, vintage looks

8 responses to “success in the clutch.

  1. glad you were able to do a project out of that book. It did have a lot of cute ideas! and the clutch is cute! great job!

    • Seriously, I have so many bookmarked pages from the books/magazines you’ve given me. There’s some great stuff. I think I’ll be making kimonos next time there’s a good price on silky fabrics at JoAnn’s.

  2. I love the clutch. I have not played a video game since the first mario brothers. Minus some bowling on the Wii.

  3. Pingback: it’s electra. (boogie-woogie-woogie) | craft knack and cheese

  4. That’s an adorable clutch!

Leave a Reply

